Ann Crittenden: Ann Crittenden is an award-winning journalist, author, and lecturer. She was a reporter for The New York Times for eight years, writing on a broad range of economic topics and was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. Her books include If You've Raised Kids, You Can Manage Anything, The Price of Motherhood, Sanctuary: A Story of American Conscience and the Law in Collision, and Killing the Sacred Cows: Bold Ideas for a New Economy. Her articles have appeared in every national newspaper and numerous magazines, including Foreign Affairs, The Nation, Barron's, and Working Woman.


Arlie Hoschild: Arlie Hoschild is an American sociologist and academic. She is professor emerita of sociology at the University of California, Berkeley. Hochschild has long focused on the human emotions which underlie moral beliefs, practices, and social life generally. She is the author of nine books including, most recently Strangers In Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right, a finalist for the National Book Award, and The Second Shift, The Managed Heart, and The Time Bind. In the tradition of C. Wright Mills, Hochschild continually tries to draw links between private troubles and social issues.

 


Heather Boushey: Heather Boushey is Executive Director and Chief Economist at the Washington Center for Equitable Growth. Her research focuses on economic inequality and public policy, specifically employment, social policy, and family economic well-being and her latest book is “Finding Time: The Economics of Work-Life Conflict” from Harvard University Press. The New York Times has called Boushey one of the “most vibrant voices in the field” and Politico twice named her one of the top 50 “thinkers, doers and visionaries transforming American politics.”


Joy Rose: Martha Joy Rose is a musician and the president and founder of Mamapalooza, a company which advocates for the value of motherhood in society. Rose is also executive director of the Motherhood Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. Mamapalooza and the Motherhood Foundation have established the Museum of Motherhood currently located in St. Petersburg, Florida.

In 2015 Joy was featured in Peter Freed's Prime Book, which received international attention for challenging stereotypes about women and aging. The book features images of Christy Turlington and NBC newscaster Natalie Morales among others.


Sharon Lerner: A leading national voice on family/workplace issues and moms’ rights, Sharon Lerner is the author of The War on Moms: On Life in a Family-Unfriendly Nation.. She is a journalist who has covered a wide range of issues of concern to women for more than a decade. An award-winning journalist, Lerner has written for The New York Times, The New York Times Magazine, The Village Voice, The American Prospect, and other publications.


Susan Douglas: Susan Douglas is an American feminist columnist, and cultural critic who writes about gender issues, media criticism and American politics. She is currently Catherine Neafie Kellogg Professor of communication studies at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. In her most recent book, Enlightened Sexism:  The Seductive Message That Feminism’s Work Is Done (Henry Holt, 2010) Douglas continues her analysis of the mixed messages surrounding women, and the struggle she sees in the media between embedded feminism on the one hand and enlightened sexism on the other.  And she takes on the myth that women “have it all” and that full equality for women has been achieved.


Valerie Young: Valerie Young is the Director of Outreach for the Caring Economy Campaign, promoting policies that value care as the origin of economic prosperity and national well-being.  She is a public policy analyst and women's rights advocate in Washington DC. Valerie is committed to social justice, family economic security, and income equality. Her work appears extensively in social media, @WomanInDC on Twitter, and Your (Wo)Man in Washington on Facebook. She also has written for The Shriver Report, Brain/Child Magazine, and is frequently featured on BlogHer.com as well as the CPS and CEC blogs.


WOULD YOU LIKE TO FEATURE IN THE FILM?

We are currently recruiting interviewees to feature in our film. Do you feel strongly about motherhood? Have you had powerful experiences? Would you like to share your opinion with the world? If yes - please fill out the form below and one of our staff members will get back to you.

Name *
Name